ARR RAW Episode 6: Importance of Off-Road Riding Experience, One or Two Piece Riding Suits and Riding in Extreme Heat

1:24:43
 
Share
 

Manage episode 150254193 series 122695
By Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio streamed directly from their servers.

Episode 6: Importance of Off-Road Riding Experience, One or Two Piece Riding Suits and Riding in Extreme Heat

ARR RAW Round Table Discussion with Travellers.

Featuring Grant Johnson, Brian Rix, Shirley Hardy-Rix, Sam Manicom, Graham Field and Jim Martin.

RAW Episode 6 Topics:

The Importance of Getting Some Off-Road Riding Experience

This topic inspired by Sam Manicom, as he is doing some riding in the United States. Last month we talked about road riding experience. What about if you have lots of that but aren’t prepared for any off-road trails? How to get some experience with a school or on your own.

Riding Gear - One or Two Piece Suits

- advantages, disadvantage

- likes or dislikes

- how does weather, or climate affect what you should wear

- which would be better for heading out on lengthy adventure

Riding in Extreme Heat and Staying Safe While You Do It

- staying hydrated and how does dehydration affect you in the heat, how much water can you expect to carry for a certain distance?

- heat exhaustion and heat stroke - signs and prevention

- dressing for riding in heat

Show Picks & Plugs

Grant Johnson - www.horizunsunlimited.com

PICK: Electric/Heated Vests

PLUG : HUMM Spain - http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/humm/humm-info

Sam Manicom - www.sam-manicom.com

PICK: Jesse Luggage https://m.facebook.com/jesse.luggage/

PLUG: The Overland Event http://www.overlandevent.com/

Shirley Hardy-Rix & Brian Rix - www.aussiesoverland.com.au

PICK: Motorcycle Investor: www.facebook.com/motorcycleinvestor www.motorcycleinvestor.com

PLUG: Aussies Overland New book! "The Long Way to Vladivostok" http://www.aussiesoverland.com.au

Graham Field - http://grahamfield.co.uk/

PICK:

PLUG:

Jim Martin - www.adventureriderradio.com

PICK: inReach Explorer www.inreachcanada.com

off-road, jacket, one-piece, suit, heat, grant johnson, shirley hardy-rix, brian rix, graham field, sam manicom, jim martin, adventure rider radio, arr raw, raw, electric vests, heated vest, jesse luggage, aussiesoverland, inreachcanada, inreach, delorme

43 episodes available. A new episode about every 0 hours averaging 111 mins duration .