256. Taking it Slow - The Concert


This series is archived ("HTTP Redirect" status)

Please note series archiving is a new, experimental, feature of Player FM with the aim of helping users understand how we fetch series and report on any issues.

Replaced by: Classical on Player FM

When? This feed was archived on August 25, 2017 09:53 (). Last successful fetch was on August 07, 2017 14:23 ()

Why? HTTP Redirect status. The feed permanently redirected to another series.

What now? If you were subscribed to this series when it was replaced, you will now be subscribed to the replacement series. This series will no longer be checked for updates. If you believe this to be in error, please check if the publisher's feed link below is valid and contact support to request the feed be restored or if you have any other concerns about this.


Danger zone

Series is public
Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio streamed directly from their servers.

Works by Vivaldi and Beethoven performed by the Gardner Chamber Orchestra and Musicians from Marlboro on September 11, 2004 and October 19, 2014.

  • Vivaldi, Antonio: Concerto in C Major for Soprano Recorder and Orchestra
  • Beethoven, Ludwig van: String Quintet in C Major, Op. 29

The two pieces on this podcast have many points of difference: different eras (Baroque and Classical), different instrumentation (a recorder concerto and a string quintet), and different performers. The list goes on. But as different as they are, both works share a wonderful commonality at their core: a gorgeous slow movement.

The first slow movement we’ll hear comes right in the middle of Vivaldi’s Concerto in C Major for sopranino recorder and orchestra, played by Aldo Abreu and the Gardner Chamber Orchestra. When the piece begins, the recorder enters on a dazzling, virtuosic note, but it is the middle movement where he truly gets to stretch out and show not just his technical prowess, but his musicality.

After the Vivaldi, we’ll hear Beethoven’s String Quintet in C Major, Opus 29, played by Musicians from Marlboro. Like Vivaldi, Beethoven’s slow movement comes second, after a cheery opening allegro. This slow movement has a lovely, Mozartean quality, tending to the “sweeter” side of “bittersweet.”

2140 episodes available. A new episode about every 5 hours .