Episode 085: The One With The 2019 Sprudgie Award Winners


Manage episode 250254942 series 164085
By Zachary Carlsen and Sprudge Media. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.
In this episode of the Coffee Sprudgecast Jordan Michelman and Zachary Carlsen read the winners of the 2019 Sprudgie Awards Presented By Pacific Barista Series. This episode of the Coffee Sprudgecast is brought to you by Odeko. Notable Roaster

Winner: Onyx Coffee Lab (Rogers, AR)

Honoree: Dune Coffee (Santa Barbara, California)

Finalists: Dear Green Coffee Roasters (Glasgow, Scotland), Mother Tongue Coffee Roasters (Oakland, California), Hola Coffee (Madrid, ESP), YES PLZ WEEKLY (Los Angeles, California), Market Lane (Melbourne, AUS), Ditta Artigianale (Florence, IT).

Best New Cafe

Winner: Substance Cafe (Paris)

Honoree: Formative Coffee (London)

Finalists: Intelligentsia Coffee (Austin), Canary Coffee Bar (Milwaukee), The Coffee Movement (San Francisco), Prototype Coffee (Vancouver, BC), Wrecking Ball Coffee (Berkeley, CA), The Crown: Royal Coffee Lab & Tasting Room (Oakland).

Sustainable Cafe

Winner: 3FE (Dublin, Ireland)

Honoree: Counter Culture Coffee Training Centers (United States)

Finalists: Oddly Correct (Kansas City, Missouri), Isla Coffee (Berlin), Bar Nine (Los Angeles), Miss Margaret (Preston, Victoria), Horizon Line Coffee (Des Moines, Iowa), Crema Coffee (Nashville).

Best New Product

Winner: La Marzocco KB90

Honoree: AeroPress Go by AeroPress

Finalists: Carter Everywhere Mug by Fellow Products, FrankOne Brewer, Acaia Pearl S, Sanremo Brave, Wilfa Uniform Grinder, Ember Mug².

Best Coffee Video/Film

Winner: James Hoffmann on YouTube

Honoree: Chris Baca on YouTube

Finalists: Seattle Coffee Gear (YouTube), “Breaking The Crust” (Stumptown Coffee), “Wax & Gold” (Stumptown Coffee), “Coffee Farmers Hopeful For Their Dying Crops” (National Geographic), “Coffee” from SHOP: A Pop Opera by Jack Stauber (Adult Swim).

Best Coffee Writing

Winner: Umeko Motoyoshi, “The @WastingCoffee Guide To Not Wasting Coffee”

Honoree: Anonymous, Vancouver Coffee Snob

Finalists: Amanda Mull for “The Rise of Coffee Shaming” (The Atlantic), Jonathan Gagné (Coffee Ad Astra), Arielle Rebekah Gordon (Trans & Caffeinated), Brian Williams (Brian’s Coffee Spot), RJ Joseph (The Knockbox), Ashley Rodriguez (Boss Barista).

Notable Coffee Producer

Winner: Juan Peña, Hacienda La Papaya (Ecuador)

Honoree: Damian Chavez (Honduras)

Finalists: Rosalba Cifuentes Tovia (Mexico), La Palma y El Tucan (Colombia), Long Miles Coffee Project (Burundi), Tesfaye Bekele (Ethiopia), Virgelina Perdomo (Colombia), Don Fabio Caballero (Honduras).

Best Coffee Magazine

Winner: Standart (Slovakia)

Honoree: Roast Magazine (USA)

Finalists: 25 Magazine (USA), Coffee People Zine (USA), Solo Magazine (Spain), The Coffee Magazine (South Africa), Drift (USA), Revista Espresso (Brazil).

Best Design Packaging

Winner: Coffee Collective (Copenhagen, Denmark)

Honoree: Hard Beans Coffee Roasters (Opole, Poland)

Finalists: Camber Coffee Artists Series (Bellingham, WA), Fjord Coffee Roasters (Berlin, Germany), Intelligentsia Coffee (Chicago, IL), Joe Coffee (New York City, NY), Talormade Coffee (Oslo, Norway), YEZ PLZ WEEKLY (Los Angeles, CA).

Best Coffee Podcast

Winner: Cat & Cloud

Honoree: Boss Barista

Finalists: Sourceress, Keys to the Shop, La Crema: Podcast de Cafe, Craft Your Own Coffee Podcast, Filter Stories, The Specialty Coffee Association Podcast.

Best Social Media

Winner: @50percentarabica


Finalists: @dayglowcoffee, @ditriech, @wastingcoffee, @getchusomegear, @nicely85, @shitfrommykitchen.

Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Excellence

Winner: Jooyeon Jeon, 2019 World Barista Champion

Honoree: Coffee At Large

Finalists: Alice Wong of Disability Visibility Project, Chris McAuley of Getchusomegear, Peter Giuliano of Coffee Science Foundation and SCA, T. Ben Fischer of Glitter Cat Barista Boot Camp, Virginia Bauman of Cuties and Go Get Em Tiger, Margaret Nyamumbo of Kahawa 1893.

The 11h Annual Sprudgie Awards are presented by Pacific Barista Series.

See all past winners of the Sprudgie Awards.

111 episodes