Dr. Norman Borlaug with Julie Borlaug, Dr. Ronnie Coffman, and Dr. Ed Runge

1:40:39
 
Share
 

Manage episode 273477718 series 2541695
By ASA, CSSA, SSSA. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

Dr. Norman Borlaug was an American agronomist who specialized in wheat breeding. Known as the Father of the Green Revolution, he helped other hunger fighters save hundreds of thousands of lives in Mexico, India, Pakistan, and other countries throughout his long and varied career. He won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1970 and founded the World Food Prize to celebrate other food fighters worldwide. This episode we speak with his granddaughter and colleague Julie Borlaug and fellow colleagues Dr. Ronnie Coffman and Dr. Ed Runge to discuss the “Man who Fed the World.”

Listen to learn:

  • What are the three major improvements Dr. Borlaug contributed to wheat breeding
  • What role sports played in Dr. Borlaug’s life
  • What was the Green Revolution
  • What obstacles still remain in the realm of hunger fighting

If you would like to find transcripts for this episode or sign up for our newsletter, please visit our website: http://fieldlabearth.libsyn.com/

Contact us at podcast@sciencesocieties.org or on Twitter @FieldLabEarth if you have comments, questions, or suggestions for show topics, and if you want more content like this don’t forget to subscribe.

If you would like to reach out to Julie, you can find her here: julie@inari.com https://twitter.com/JulieBorlaug https://www.linkedin.com/in/julie-borlaug-3b7b6710/

If you would like to reach out to Ronnie, you can find him here: wrc2@cornell.edu

If you would like to reach out to Ed, you can find him here: e-runge@tamu.edu

Resources

CEU Quiz: https://www.certifiedcropadviser.org/education/classroom/classes/873

Leon Hesser’s book, The Man Who Fed the World: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/man-who-fed-the-world-leon-hesser/1100451132

Roger Thurow’s book, The Last Hunger Season: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-last-hunger-season-roger-thurow/1110792507

Roger Thurow’s book, Enough: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/enough-roger-thurow/1116903601?ean=9781586488185

Noel Veitmeyer’s book, Our Daily Bread: https://www.amazon.com/Daily-Bread-Essential-Norman-Borlaug/dp/0578095556

Charles C. Mann’s book, The Wizard and The Prophet: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-wizard-and-the-prophet-charles-c-mann/1126242716?ean=9780345802842

PBS Special, The Man Who Tried to Feed the World: https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/americanexperience/films/man-who-tried-to-feed-the-world/

Norman Borlaug Heritage Foundation: https://www.normanborlaug.org/

Norman Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture: https://borlaug.tamu.edu/

Borlaug Global Rust Initiative: https://www.globalrust.org/

Borlaug Global Rust Initiative Twitter: @globalrust, https://twitter.com/globalrust

Borlaug Global Rust Initiative Facebook: @globalrust: https://www.facebook.com/globalrust

World Food Prize: https://www.worldfoodprize.org/

The Rockefeller Foundation: https://www.rockefellerfoundation.org/

University of Minnesota: https://twin-cities.umn.edu/

Texas A&M University: https://www.tamu.edu/

Cornell Global Development Department Twitter: @CornellGlobal, https://twitter.com/CornellGlobal

Cornell Global Development Department Facebook: @CornellGlobal, https://www.facebook.com/CornellGlobalDevelopment/

Cornell College of Agriculture and Life Sciences: https://cals.cornell.edu/

Cornell College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Twitter: @CornellCALS, https://twitter.com/CornellCALS

Cornell College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Facebook: @CornellCALS, https://www.facebook.com/CornellCALS

Cornell University: https://www.cornell.edu/

Cornell University Twitter: @Cornell, https://twitter.com/Cornell

Cornell University Facebook: @Cornell, https://www.facebook.com/Cornell

Iowa State University: https://www.iastate.edu/

CIMMYT: https://www.cimmyt.org/

USDA: https://www.usda.gov/

Alliance for Science: https://allianceforscience.cornell.edu/

Global Youth Institute: https://www.worldfoodprize.org/en/youth_programs/global_youth_institute/

World Food Program: https://www.wfpusa.org/

World Food Programme: https://www.wfp.org/

Peace Corps: https://www.peacecorps.gov/

Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation: https://www.gatesfoundation.org/

Alliance to End Hunger: https://alliancetoendhunger.org/

Sponsored by Gasmet Technologies. Gasmet Technologies range of portable analyzers are used for environmental research measuring CO2, CH4, N2O, NH3 & H2O gas fluxes simultaneously at sub-ppm levels. Check out www.gasmet.com for more information and to request a quotation.

Field, Lab, Earth is copyrighted to the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America.

62 episodes