Where the freelance work is

28:35
 
Share
 

Manage episode 262900462 series 2686520
By Lily Canter and Emma Wilkinson, Lily Canter, and Emma Wilkinson. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

In our launch episode we speak to travel writer David Whitley and film journalist Tasha Jagger about where to the find the freelance work.

We discuss the importance of working for a range of media outlets, how to branch out beyond traditional media and the unexpected places where journalism work can be found.

The Hosts

Lily Canter: https://www.lilycanter.co.uk/

Twitter: @lilycanter

Emma Wilkinson: https://emmawilkinson.net/

Twitter: @Emmajourno

Things Lily mentions:

South China Morning Post - https://www.scmp.com/author/lily-canter

The Sun, My First Home - https://www.lilycanter.co.uk/money/the-sun-my-first-home/

The Guests

Tasha Jagger: https://tashajagger.contently.com/

Twitter: @tashajagger_

David Whitley: http://www.grumpytraveller.com/

Twitter: @mrdavidwhitley

Things Tasha mentions:

Little White Lies, Female Composer - https://lwlies.com/articles/why-are-there-so-few-female-film-composers/

Digital Spy - https://www.digitalspy.com/

Organic Film - http://www.organicfilm.com.tr/

Things David mentions:

National Geographic Article - https://www.nationalgeographic.co.uk/travel/2019/12/frequent-flyer-what-do-when-theres-airline-strike

Pre-order the Freelancing for Journalists book here

17 episodes