35 - Acquisition

59:39
 
Share
 
Manage episode 181327837 series 1269548
By Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio streamed directly from their servers.
We discuss acquisitions, Raf names the 4 horsegallerists of the art apocalypse, and we both thoughtfully consider the merits of an App about nothing. Silvio Lorusso http://silviolorusso.com/ Rhizome animated GIF event https://timeframe.splashthat.com/ Amazon buys Whole Foods https://www.engadget.com/2017/06/16/amazon-whole-foods-future-of-grocery-shopping/ C-Town https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C-Town_Supermarkets Scott Galloway https://twitter.com/profgalloway Tech’s Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse: Amazon, Facebook, Google, Apple https://youtu.be/XCvwCcEP74Q Amazon Go https://www.amazon.com/b?node=16008589011 Boar’s Head Ham http://boarshead.com/products/ham Coffin Apartments https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/3743131/hong-kong-coffin-homes-pictures-size/ Palmer Luckey’s new drone startup https://www.theverge.com/2017/6/4/15738348/palmer-luckey-border-control-tech-startup Kalanick 2.0 https://www.recode.net/2017/6/13/15793732/uber-ceo-travis-kalanick-leave George Bush paintings http://www.newyorker.com/culture/cultural-comment/george-w-bushs-painted-atonements David Zwirner http://www.davidzwirner.com/ Pace Gallery http://www.pacegallery.com/ Gogosian http://www.gagosian.com/ Hauser and Wirth https://www.hauserwirth.com/ Steve Turner http://steveturner.la/ 8 out of 10 businesses fail myth https://tech.co/startup-failure-statistic-myth-2016-04 Acqui-hiring https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acqui-hiring Vesting http://www.investopedia.com/terms/v/vesting.asp Amazon Fresh https://www.amazon.com/AmazonFresh/b?ie=UTF8&node=10329849011 Saatchi Art https://www.saatchiart.com/ Uber is the future of logistics https://www.inc.com/adam-vaccaro/uber-isnt-a-car-service.html Vipps https://www.vipps.no/ Apple Peer to Peer payments https://www.recode.net/2017/6/5/15741636/apple-pay-p2p-venmo-competitor-apple-pay-cash-money-transfer Authorize.net http://authorize.net/ Stripe https://stripe.com/ca Braintree https://www.braintreepayments.com/ Paypal https://www.paypal.com/ca/home Paypal Paypal.com We hire and fire products https://blog.leanstack.com/customers-need-to-fire-something-before-they-can-hire-your-product-56a883f4541b Rockerfeller Standard Oil Monopoly https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_Oil Reid Hoffman, co-founder of LinkedIn https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reid_Hoffman Reed Hastings, co-founder of Netflix https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reed_Hastings And he doesn’t care abut net neutrality https://www.theverge.com/2017/5/31/15719824/netflix-ceo-reed-hastings-net-neutrality-not-our-battle Planet of the Apps https://www.planetoftheapps.com/en-us Stay Focused http://www.stayfocusd.com/ Shouldn’t You Be Working stickers http://silviolorusso.com/work/shouldnt-you-be-working/ Life’s a Beach http://skately.com/library/brands/lifes-a-beach Fiver ad https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tJkfN1Qey8g Hi5 http://www.hi5.com/ Fluxus Manifesto http://georgemaciunas.com/about/cv/manifesto-i/ Marina Abramović & Jeff Koons front new online VR gallery http://www.dazeddigital.com/artsandculture/article/36302/1/marina-abramovic-jeff-koons-front-first-online-vr-gallery

57 episodes available. A new episode about every 7 days averaging 68 mins duration .