51 Kyoto Metal City (Takuya Yada & Joe of Cosmic Earth)


Manage episode 275257692 series 2499002
By JapanKyo.com. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

On this episode of the Japan Station podcast two members of the Kyoto-based metal band Cosmic Earth stop by to talk about their new album inspired by the Tokyo Olympics, the Kyoto heavy metal scene, and more.

About Cosmic Earth

Cosmic Earth is a Kyoto-based doom metal/stoner rock/heavy blues rock band founded by guitarist Takuya Yada in 2017. Cosmic Earth is part of Cosmic Frequency Records and is in the process of writing original music to release an album in the near future.

Topics Discussed
  • Takuya Yada's decision to go to England to study English and become a guitarist
  • How Takuya Yada managed to become a guitarist of the heavy metal band Stuka Squadron
  • Joe's connection to music and how he became interested in metal
  • How Takuya Yada and Joe met
  • The formation of Cosmic Earth
  • The story behind Takuya Yada's heavy metal album inspired by the Tokyo Olympics: Stonolympic
  • Some of the concepts and themes explored in Stonolympic
  • Rock Bar Crunch in Kyoto
  • And much more!
Support on Patreon

If you enjoy Japan Station and want to ensure that we're able to produce more episodes, then please consider becoming a patron on Patreon.com. For a minimum pledge of $1 a month you'll get early access to all JapanKyo podcasts, bonus content, and more. And for $3 a month, you'll get access to Japanese Plus Alpha, a podcast produced by me (Tony Vega) that focuses on the Japanese language and all of its fascinating quirks. Also, all pledges get a shout-out on the show and my undying gratitude. Thank you in advance!

Links, Videos, Etc.

To support the Stonolympic album Kickstarter campaign, check out the link below.

For more information on Takuya Yada's many projects, visit the Cosmic Frequency Records website.

You can find Takuya Yada's solo album 7 Fragments of the Unconscious on both the Cosmic Frequency Records website and Bancamp (link below).

You can follow Takuya Yada and Cosmic Frequency Records on social media.

The name of the heavy metal/hard rock bar in Kyoto that was mentioned during this episode is Rock Bar Crunch. You can find their website here. The address for Rock Bar Crunch can be found below.

Rock Bar Crunch Address138 Universe Kaikan (Yunibāsu Kaikan), Tominagacho, Higashiyama WardKyoto, 〒605-0078

For more information on BlueEyes Kyoto, you can visit their Facebook page. The address for BlueEyes Kyoto can be found below.

BlueEyes Kyoto Address 93 Kyoto Wasō Bldg. B1F (京都和装ビル), Goboomiyacho, Shimogyo Ward Kyoto, 〒600-8385

To listen to the latest episode of Ichimon Japan, check out the link below.

Special Thanks

Opening/Closing song: Oedo Controller (大江戸コントローラー) by Yunomi featuring Toriena (Used with permission from Yunomi) To listen to more of Yunomi's music, check out his Soundcloud page or YouTube channel.

Japan Station cover art: Provided by Erik R.

Featured image: Courtesy of Zack Davisson

Featured image: Courtesy of Takuya Yada

Follow Japankyo on Social Media Full Show Notes

76 episodes