PNTV: Can't Hurt Me by David Goggins (#416)

22:45
 
Share
 

Manage episode 273004579 series 85042
By Brian Johnson. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

Optimize: https://optimize.me/ (← Get Free Stuff + Free 2-Week Trial!) Optimize Coach: https://optimize.me/coach (← Join 2,000+ Optimizers from 70+ Countries!) Here are 5 of my favorite Big Ideas from Can’t Hurt Me by David Goggins. Hope you enjoy! David Goggins is a former Navy SEAL (and Army Ranger) who used to hold a Guinness World Record for completing 4,030 pull-ups in 17 hours. These days he’s setting records as an ultra-endurance athlete. But he wasn’t always Mr. Superhero. In this great autobiographical self-help book, David walks us through his transformation from being a 297-pound exterminator to a “Who IS this guy?!” superhero. If you’re into SUPER (!!!) intense demonstrations of how to conquer ourselves to do the seemingly impossible (and don’t mind a stream of f-bombs—lol) then I think you’ll love this book as much as I did. Big Ideas we explore include: The Accountability Mirror, bringing your best (when you feel the worst), hero callouses (let failures toughen you up!), the process (how to go from running 1/4 of a mile to 200+ nonstop), and bursting from the inside out (learn to endure!). Get Can’t Hurt Me on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Cant-Hurt-Me-Master-Your/dp/1544512287/ Learn more about David Goggins: https://www.optimize.me/authors/david-goggins/ ► RELATED RESOURCES: Big Idea 1: THE ONE WARRIOR - PN: Staring Down the Wolf by Mark Divine → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/staring-down-the-wolf-mark-divine/ - PN: Discipline Equals Freedom by Jocko Willink → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/discipline-equals-freedom-jocko-willink/ - PN: Fearless by Eric Blehm → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/fearless-eric-blehm/ - Abraham Maslow → https://www.optimize.me/authors/abraham-maslow/ - "[Maslow] once asked his class, ‘Which of you believe you will achieve greatness?’ When they stared at him blankly, he asked, ‘If not you, who then?’” - Colin Wilson →https://www.optimize.me/quotes/colin-wilson/1536171-maslow-once-asked-his-class-which-of-you-believe-you/ - PNTV: The Healthy Deviant by Pilar Gerasimo → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/the-healthy-deviant-pilar-gerasimo/ - Thich Nhat Hanh → https://www.optimize.me/authors/thich-nhat-hanh/ Big Idea 2: THE ACCOUNTABILITY MIRROR - +1: Targeted Thinking | What Do You Want + Now What Needs to Be Done? (#1267) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/targeted-thinking/ - +1: Neutral Thinking | vs. Positive and Negative Thinking (#1259) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/neutral-thinking/ - +1: WHtR ← Waist to Height Ratio | How’s Yours? (

2177 episodes