PNTV: The Second Mountain by David Brooks (#421)

15:03
 
Share
 

Manage episode 274583618 series 85042
By Brian Johnson. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

Optimize: https://optimize.me/ (← Get Free Stuff + Free 2-Week Trial!) Optimize Coach: https://optimize.me/coach (← Join 2,000+ Optimizers from 70+ Countries!) Here are 5 of my favorite Big Ideas from The Second Mountain by David Brooks. Hope you enjoy! David Brooks is one of the nations’ leading writers and commentators. He is an op-ed columnist for the New York Times and appears regularly on PBS NewsHour and Meet the Press. I loved his book The Road to Character. I loved this one even more. David tells us there are two mountains: The first mountain? That’s what society tells us we should pursue: all the normal trappings of success. The second mountain? That’s where the magic (and joy!) exists: where we move beyond ourselves and COMMIT (important word for this book!) to giving ourselves most fully to something bigger than ourselves. David identifies four potential commitments: to our families, to our vocations, to our faith/philosophy of life and to our communities. Ultimately, the book is intended to be a guide to the ULTIMATE quest in life: “The Quest for a Moral Life.” Get The Second Mountain on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Second-Mountain-David-Brooks/dp/0812993268 Learn more about David Brooks: https://www.optimize.me/authors/david-brooks/ ► RELATED RESOURCES: Big Idea 1: HAPPINESS VS. JOY - PNTV: Falling Upward by Richard Rohr → https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KbYeFrbnDQE - PN: The Power of Ideals by Anne Colby and William Damon → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/the-power-of-ideals-william-damon-anne-colby/ - PN: The Road to Character by David Brooks → https://www.optimize.me/philosophers-notes/the-road-to-character-david-brooks/ - The 5 (Greek) Keys to Optimizing | Areté + Eudaimonia + en*theos + Hērōs + Euthymia (#200) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/the-5-greek-keys-to-optimizing/ - +1: Eulogy Virtues | How to Chisel on Your Road to Character (#212) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/eulogy-virtues/ - +1: The Mountain-Races of Life | And How to Win Them (#1066) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/the-mountain-races-of-life/ Big Idea 2: THE COMMITTED LIFE - +1: Eudaimonism vs. Hedonism | Don’t Want to Be Depressed? Science Says… (#1166) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/eudaimonism-vs-hedonism/ - +1: Success Doesn’t Matter in This World | Commitment Does (#1078) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/success-doesnt-matter-in-this-world/ Big Idea 3: VOCATION - Viktor Frankl → https://www.optimize.me/authors/viktor-frankl/ - +1: Don’t Aim at Success | Dedicate Yourself to a Cause Bigger Than Yourself (#1040) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/dont-aim-at-success/ - +1: Your Specific Mission in Life | You Have One… What Is It? (#1041) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/your-specific-mission-in-life/ Big Idea 4: RECOMMITMENT - +1: Recommitment | Commitment Is Easy - It's ALL about Recommitting (#154) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/recommitment/ - +1: Falling in Love vs. STANDING in Love | One’s a Lot Easier than the Other (#134) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/falling-in-love-vs-standing-in-love/ Big Idea 5: FLASHLIGHT VS. HAMMER - +1: Flashlight vs. Hammer | How Are You Using Life's Data? (#1088) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/flashlight-vs-hammer/ - +1: The Optimize Compass | And How to Make One (#1128) → https://www.optimize.me/plus-one/the-optimize-compass/ - Conquering Perfectionism 101 → https://www.optimize.me/conquering-perfectionism/ - Conquering Anxiety 101 → https://www.optimize.me/conquering-anxiety/ - Conquering Depression 101 → https://www.optimize.me/conquering-depression/

► FREE 14-DAY TRIAL: Get the PhilosophersNote on The World According to Mister Rogers and 600+ other books by starting a Free 14-Day trial membership to Optimize: https://www.optimize.me/trial/ ► MORE GOODNESS: - Get the Optimize App for iPhone & iPad: https://www.optimize.me/apps/ - Get the Optimize App for Android: https://www.optimize.me/apps/ - Subscribe to the Optimize Podcast: https://optimize.me/podcast/ - Follow Optimize on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BriantheOptimizer/ - Follow Optimize on Instagram: https://instagram.com/optimize.me/

2177 episodes