Episode 4: Progressive Web Apps (PWAs) with Maxim Salnikov

50:24
 
Share
 

Manage episode 219531919 series 2440978
By Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio streamed directly from their servers.

Recording date: 2018-09-20

Tweet

John Papa https://twitter.com/john_papa

Ward Bell https://twitter.com/wardbell

Dan Wahlin https://twitter.com/danwahlin

(0:01:51) John reads the mailbag about browser support, service workers performance imapc,t and adding home screens to PWAs.

(0:01:51) Mailbag https://twitter.com/RealTalkJS/status/1042572672025194496

(00:2:15) Maxim describes PWA support in the browsers

(0:03:10) Ward points out that Addy Osmani https://twitter.com/addyosmani says: "It's important to remember that Progressive Web Apps work everywhere but are supercharged in modern browsers. Progressive enhancement is a backbone of the model."

(0:03:42) Service worker support in "Can I Use" https://caniuse.com/#feat=serviceworkers

(0:03:50) Maxim recommends using the PWA feature detector https://github.com/tomayac/pwa-feature-detector

(0:04:10) Maxim answers John's question about how PWAs have changed over the past few years

(0:05:45) Maxim answers what a PWA is and the value to developers and users

(0:07:00) Ward asks "What problem does PWA solve?"

(0:07:43) Dan asks what he benefits of PWA are to an enterprise business

(0:08:50) Maxim points out how low wifi (LiFi) can be hard to deal with

(0:09:22) What is a PWA https://developers.google.com/web/progressive-web-apps/

(0:09:30) Ward asks if a PWA magically knows if its offline or not

(0:11:50) Maxim talks about LiFi as really low connectivity

(0:13:20) John clarifies with Maxim that PWAs uses browser APIs to check their connectivity

(0:14:00) Ward asks if he should use the raw service worker protocol

(0:15:15) Dan and Ward asks Maxim what makes this easier

(0:16:57) Maxim talks about the Workbox project https://developers.google.com/web/tools/workbox/

(0:18:15) John asks Maxim what else besides Service Workers, that is a part of PWAs

(0:18:30) Maxim discusses web app manfiest https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/Manifest

(0:21:10) Maxim talks about Service Worker precache https://github.com/GoogleChromeLabs/sw-precache

(0:22:22) Ward asks Maxim to tell a story about one of Maxim's successful experiences with PWAs

(0:28:26) mobile era rocks PWA https://mobileera.rocks/

(0:28:46) Ward raises how conferences are notorious for low wifi

(0:33:00) John asks Maxim when not to do a PWA

(0:38:00) Ward, John and Maxim discuss security concerns with PWAs

(0:44:30) Lighthouse tool for PWAs https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/lighthouse/blipmdconlkpinefehnmjammfjpmpbjk

(0:45:30) Maxim mentions the Web Hint tool for PWAs https://webhint.io/ (tip: npx hint https://example.com )

(0:46:50) Someone to follow: Nicholas Zakas https://twitter.com/slicknet https://humanwhocodes.com/

(0:47:38) Someone to follow: Simona Cotin https://twitter.com/simona_cotin?lang=en

(0:48:10) Someone to follow: Arthur Stolyar https://twitter.com/nekrtemplar

Additional Resources

PWA Checklist https://developers.google.com/web/progressive-web-apps/checklist

Curated list of PWA news by Maxim: https://twitter.com/progwebnews/

PWA Feature Detector https://tomayac.github.io/pwa-feature-detector/

Mobile Era PWA: https://mobileera.rocks/

Workbox: https://workboxjs.org

Webhint: https://webhint.io

PWA Get Started: https://developers.google.com/web/progressive-web-apps/ https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/pwa

Excellent post on PWA: https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2015/12/getting-started-pwa

37 episodes available. A new episode about every 7 days averaging 48 mins duration .