7. Writing as an Act of Magic - Solo Epside

37:05
 
Share
 

Manage episode 226938269 series 1567206
By Subversive Studies Podcast. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.
Have you ever thought about the fact that you put a series of symbols on a piece of paper or a screen, share it with others, and directly transmit messages and ideas that can change their consciousness? It's called writing and I say it's actual magic - and I'm not alone! This solo episode is a brief exploration of the links between writing and magic from both a historical and practical perspective, including how we understand art, the imaginal, magic, and scholarship. Works mentioned: JF Martel, Reclaiming Art in the Age of Artifice: http://www.reclaimingart.com/ Iain McGilchrist: The Master and His Emissary https://www.ted.com/talks/iain_mcgilchrist_the_divided_brain Gary Lachman: The Secret Teachers of the Western World https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/314994/the-secret-teachers-of-the-western-world-by-gary-lachman/9780399166808/ Mitch Horowitz article "Is Your Imagination God?" https://medium.com/s/real-magic/is-your-imagination-god-b55dc78e93bb Related episodes: An Introduction to Creative Inquiry: https://soundcloud.com/subversivestudies/ci-podcast-episode-one Alfonso Montuori - Complexity, Improvisation, and Learning: https://soundcloud.com/subversivestudies/episode-2-alfonso-montuori Shah Hussein - Creative Inquiry as Magic: https://soundcloud.com/subversivestudies/episode-6-shah-hussein-creative-inquiry-as-magic Eric Peterson - Ecological Consciousness, Animism, and Story: https://soundcloud.com/subversivestudies/episode-14-eric-peterson-ecological-consciousness-animism-and-story JF Martel - Art Unearths What Normality Buries: https://soundcloud.com/subversivestudies/art-unearths-jf-martel Angela Voss - A Methodology of the Imagination: https://soundcloud.com/subversivestudies/angela-voss-methodology-imagination Cover art/logo design by Jeff Wolfe Theme music by Poddington Bear Writing as an Act of Magic material copyright © 2019 Dan Glenn

28 episodes