Superman Controversy & G.I. Joe Fans v. Aubrey Sitterson Explained | The Comics Pals Episode 47

1:40:49
 
Share
 
Manage episode 187375909 series 1534131
By Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio streamed directly from their servers.
This week, the Pals comment on the passing of Len Wein, the case of deja vu brought on by our first look at David Harbour’s Hellboy, the ridiculous controversy surrounding Superman saving an immigrant -- which is exactly what Superman has always done, and we break down the witch hunt against Aubrey Sitterson being led by G.I. Joe fans, and what these two big stories say about the bigotry problem in comics. PLUS: A villain ha sabotaged the Pals?! Buy or Sell Pals Pulls News: Len Wein Passes: http://www.dccomics.com/blog/2017/09/10/len-wein-1948-2017 Zack Snyder Not Doing Press For Justice League: http://comicbook.com/dc/2017/09/12/justice-league-zack-snyder-no-press/ Sam Humphries and Bernard Chang Take Over Nightwing: http://www.cbr.com/exclusive-sam-humphries-bernard-chang-nightwing/2/ Stan Lee Talks Rift With Steve Ditko: http://comicbook.com/marvel/2017/09/12/stan-lee-reveals-argument-with-steve-ditko-over-green-goblin/ Stan Lee Returning to Florida Convention to Aid Relief Effort: https://www.newsarama.com/36393-stan-lee-breaks-florida-for-hurricane-irma.html?fref=gc&dti=833038996839182 David Harbour as Hellboy Revealed: http://www.ign.com/articles/2017/09/13/hellboy-first-look-at-david-harbour-new-logo-revealed Daniel Dae Kim Lands Role in Hellboy as Ben Daimio: http://www.cbr.com/hellboy-daniel-dae-kim-ben-daimio/?utm_source=CBR-FB-P&utm_medium=Social-Distribution&utm_campaign=CBR-FB-P&view=list Marvel Two-in-One to Address Absence of Reed and Sue Richards: https://www.newsarama.com/36372-marvel-two-in-one-1-reunites-ben-grimm-johnny-storm-to-do-what-the-ff-does-best-in-marvel-legacy.html Superman Saves Immigrants Life, as He Should: http://www.cbr.com/of-course-superman-saved-immigrant-workers-its-what-he-does/ IDW Potentially Firing Aubrey Sitterson: https://www.themarysue.com/idw-actually-considering-taking-action-against-writer-based-on-the-whims-of-right-wing-harassers/ Aubrey Sitterson Timeline: https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/09/14/timeline-aubrey-sitterson-gi-joe/#.WbrePqI9pFM.twitter Main Topic: Superman and G.I. Joe: Symbols of Freedom and Idealism, or Standardbearers of Oppression? This week in comics, we got TWO conversations surrounding bigotry and whether or not comic book characters can be used to make political statements. The books in question are born out of social and political turmoil, but some fans believe that these characters should stay out of such politically charged discourse. We break down both situations this week and explain why Superman, G.I. Joe and similar characters will always fight on the side of the oppressed. The Pals: Sean: twitter.com/SeansSoapbox Pete: twitter.com/Loud_Pete Cale: twitter.com/Totointow Marco: twitter.com/woeismarco_ Phil: twitter.com/Cyborgbebop

102 episodes available. A new episode about every 2 days averaging 100 mins duration .