Valentine's Day, Liam Neeson's Race Row & A Most Literary Liar

1:13:55
 
Share
 

Manage episode 227197349 series 1398129
By Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio streamed directly from their servers.

We couldn't not discuss Liam Neeson's race row and The New Yorker long-read setting the publishing world alight: about best-selling novelist Dan Mallory, aka AJ Finn, who built his career on an extensive web of lies. How did it take a decade for anyone to see through his deception? And what does it tell us about the publishing world - and ourselves?

Also today, we discuss Valentine's Day (and reveal our best and worst and our plans for this year), the diversity of vaginas and the M&S love sausage.

Vagina: A Re-Education, by Lynn Enright https://www.foyles.co.uk/witem/lgbt-gender-studies/vagina-a-reeducation,lynn-enright-9781911630012

A Suspense Novelist’s Trail is Deception, by Ian Parker for The New Yorker https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2019/02/11/a-suspense-novelists-trail-of-deceptions/amp

Why I Photographed 100 Vaginas, by Laura Dodsworth for The BBC https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/resources/idt-sh/Why_I_Photographed_100_Vulvas

Rachel Cooke on Dan Mallory for The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2019/feb/10/we-rush-to-condemn-fakers-such-as-dan-mallory-world-has-made-impostors-of-us-all

Otegha Uwagba’s In Good Company podcast with Abigail Bergstrom https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/otegha-uwagba/id1294215581?mt=2&i=1000426027620

TBD with Tina Brown interview with Laura Wasser https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/tbd-with-tina-brown/id1441327188?mt=2&i=1000428209917

Josh Barrie eats the Love Sausage for iNews https://www.inews.co.uk/news/consumer/love-sausage-m-and-s-valentines-day-2019-taste-test-review/amp/

The Last Days Of August https://www.audible.co.uk/?ref=Adbl_ip_rdr_from_US&source_code=AUK30DFT1BkWS010516905U&ipRedirectFrom=US&ipRedirectOriginalURL=pd%2FThe-Last-Days-of-August-Audiobook%2FB07JK61MK3

Richard E Grant on Awards Chatter https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/awards-chatter/id1039032256?mt=2&i=1000429288454

Camping, on Sky Atlantic

True West, at the Vaudeville Theatre in London

E-mail thehighlowshow@gmail.com

Tweet @thehighlowshow

91 episodes available. A new episode about every 8 days averaging 64 mins duration .