Thomas Curran: Moving On West

1:05:49
 
Share
 

Manage episode 245851032 series 2492883
By Mesa Maven and I Heart Costa Mesa. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

When Chef Thomas Curran's much-hyped, Costa Mesa restaurant didn't pan out, he found himself at a fork in life's road. Fifty, spent, and yearning to rediscover meaning - after years "head down" in the restaurant industry - he was ripe for a change. So, he shuttered Taco Brat, boxed up his stuff, and flew to the East Coast to embark on a journey few would have the courage or fortitude to take: walk across the country.

231 days, countless footsteps - and lots of insights, new friendships and stories later - Thomas Curran completed his walk across the continental United States and has returned to Costa Mesa. Listen in as he shares his story of courage, self-discovery and grit on this beautiful and inspiring episode of the I Heart Costa Mesa podcast.

Connect With Thomas Curran:

Online: https://www.movingonwest.com/

Instagram: @movingonwest

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/movingonwest/

On This Episode We Discuss:

Taco Brat: https://www.latimes.com/socal/daily-pilot/news/tn-dpt-me-taco-brat-20170616-story.html

'How To Walk Across America And Not Be An A**hole': https://www.amazon.com/How-Walk-Across-America-Hole/dp/0985611936/

Pacific Crest Trail: https://www.backpacker.com/trips/long-trails/pacific-crest-trail

Appalachian Trail: https://www.backpacker.com/trips/long-trails/appalachian-trail

Lander's Liquor Bar: https://www.landersliquorbar.com/

Chris McCandless: https://allthatsinteresting.com/chris-mccandless

Holden Beach, North Carolina: http://www.hbtownhall.com/

Pediatric Cancer Research Foundation: https://pcrf-kids.org/

Eat Chow: https://www.eatchow.com/

Arc Restaurant: https://www.arcrestaurant.com/

Costa Mesa Bark Park: https://www.costamesabarkpark.com/

The Harp Inn: http://www.harpinn.com/

The Hood Kitchen Space: https://www.thehoodkitchen.com/

Valenza Chocolatier: https://www.valenzachocolatier.com/

'Ai Pono Cafe: https://www.instagram.com/aiponocafe/

Thank You To Our Wonderful Podcast Sponsors:

Music Factory School of Music

Orange Coast College

Please tell your friends about the podcast – and don’t forget to leave your rating and review wherever you listen!

Find Us On…

Facebook: www.facebook.com/iheartcostamesa/

Join the Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/iheartcostamesa/

Instagram: @iheartcostamesa

Twitter: @iheartcostamesa

Shop the store! https://www.iheartcostamesa.com/shop/

Big thanks to everyone who helped make this podcast possible!

Producer: Danny Thompson (danny@themusicfactoryoc.com)

Intro / Outro Voiceover: Brian Kazarian

Music: Eddie “DJ Kaboom” Iniestra

97 episodes