How International Bestselling Novelist Emily Schultz Writes

28:20
 
Share
 

Manage episode 281654782 series 2355239
By Kelton Reid. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

#PodcastersForJustice

The internationally bestselling thriller writer, Emily Schultz, spoke with me about recollections of coming of age as a Gen-Xer, her creative process in multiple mediums, and how to funnel emotion onto the page.

"You have to be able to take your own emotions and experiences and translate them into a fictional story. If you can pull on the truths that you know, you can bring them to the reader." — Emily Schultz

Emily is the co-founder of the literary magazine Joyland and is the author of The Blondes, an international bestseller named a Best Book of 2015 by NPR, BookPage, and Kirkus Reviews.

Her latest novel is Little Threats, described as a "...taut whodunit and a haunting snapshot of the effects of a violent crime [that] tells the story of a woman who served 15 years in prison for murder ... and now it's time to find out if she's guilty." The book was named an Apple Books Best of November 2020 pick.

Booklist said of the book, "Fans of Tana French, Kimberly Belle, and Orange is the New Black will fall under this book's spell. . . Terse and tense, Little Threats investigates righteous anger, teenage angst, and the enormity of setting the record straight." Emily’s writing has appeared in Elle, Slate, Vice, Hazlitt, Prairie Schooner, and many others. She is also a producer at the indie media company Heroic Collective where she recently released a complimentary podcast adaptation of The Blondes.

Stay tuned for a clip from the Little Threats audiobook at the break, “... excerpted courtesy [of] Penguin Random House Audio ... read by Dylan Moore and Ariadne Meyers.”

Please help us learn more about you by completing this short 7-question survey If you’re a fan of The Writer Files, please click subscribe to automatically see new interviews. In this file Emily Schultz and I discussed:
  • The influential literary magazine she helped co-found
  • How to get an "accidental" blurb from Stephen King
  • The pandemic's effect on her creative process
  • How to pull on the truths you know and bring them to your readers
  • And what to do when you don't have access to resources as a writer
Show Notes:

244 episodes