Plastic Cowboys


Manage episode 293279722 series 2866069
By Shay D. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.
Hey, y’all. I am Shay. This is the on air indie show. Welcome & enjoy. Episode 46 First, music history facts for May 25th. In 1965 Blues harmonica player, singer and songwriter Sonny Boy Williamson died in his sleep. The Led Zeppelin biography Hammer of the Gods said during a 60s UK tour Sonny Boy had once set his hotel room on fire. He was trying to cook a rabbit in a coffee percolator. Darren McCarthy from alt-rock band Plastic Cowboys joins me today. We present three tracks from the released Splinter EP. The talented trio hails from Westmeath, Ireland. The Splinter EP deals with issues such as mental health, escapism and hangovers. Splinter is one of 3 EPs planned for release this year by the band. The band is one of thebuzzr’s most need to watch bands for 2021. Enjoy! Tracks: "Storehouse" 19:16:21 "Molly" 26:21:34 "Those Damn Lights" 39:27:31 Artist Bio Provided by Youngblood Music. SPLINTER is the new EP from Plastic Cowboys, scheduled for release on 12.03.2021. ​Kicking off what promises to be a busy 2021, Plastic Cowboys return with the release of their debut EP Splinter. Harnassing the plethora of feelings which will be familiar to most following a year spent largely in lockdown, the Westmeath indie-rock trio have tapped into the rollercoaster of emotions that are experienced through living in your own head. Managing to navigate the Covid-19 restrictions by splitting their time between studio and self-recorded sessions, this allowed the trio more freedom to explore and develop their sound. "With both Darren and Joseph having experience in production, the restrictions actually forced us to become more self-sufficient when it came to the recording. So we decided to take the positives from the situation and push on with our plans." The sense of introspection that a lot of people would have felt over the last year is captured perfectly in lead single None Like You which was released in December as a teaser to the EP. As Ciaran explains: "The walls were feeling tighter than I had ever felt before, which brought about a lot of soul-searching. It's easy for us as people, especially Irish people, to ignore our problems or try to mend them with the minimum of care, and expect everything to be solved. None Like You is about trying to grow and improve as a person by riding those highs and lows rather then getting swept awy by them." ​Splinter is the first of 3 EPs planned by Plastic Cowboys in 2021, culminating in a debut album from one of Irelands most rousing new bands. Ciaran McGann - Vocals, Guitar Darren McCarthy - Bass Joe Monaghan - Drums Animated by Michaela Monaghan. Her Instagram is @kayla.doodle Facebook Twitter Youtube Link Spotify Soundcloud Bandcamp Instagram Previous Next

130 episodes