The Killer App: Bananas on the Blockchain?

29:55
 
Share
 

Manage episode 246256395 series 2568130
By Andreas M. Antonopoulos. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.
UNSCRYPTED Episode 12: The Killer App - Bananas on the Blockchain? Andreas M. Antonopoulos is a best-selling author, speaker, educator, and one of the world’s foremost bitcoin and open blockchain experts. Follow on Twitter: @aantonop Website: https://aantonop.com/ In “The Killer App: Bananas on the Blockchain?” Andreas focuses on the two main killer apps in the open blockchain ecosystem: sound money and governance. In the last episode, he advocated for universal access to basic finance. Now he shoots back at the elitist finance tycoons who say they “don’t need cryptocurrencies,” while prioritising venture capital funding towards projects that lack all of an open blockchain’s best features. He argues that their failure to consider the broader needs of the other six billion people. Watch out for those banana peels, Mr. Buffet! This talk took place on June 13th 2019 during the Coinscrum Meetup in London, England. This series is called ‘Unscrypted’ for a reason: all of Andreas’ talks are performed without slides or notes. You can find any necessary corrections and clarifications in the podcast description. Credits: The narration for this episode was done by Stephanie Murphy. Production support from Erica and Jessica. Video editing by Adrian Tano. Sound editing by Dimitris Angelidis of Sampi Media. Logo design by Davi Barker. The music is called “Unbounded” by Orfan. iTUNES: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-killer-app-bananas-on-the-blockchain/id1482850426?i=1000456843830 ORIGINAL VIDEO: "The Killer App: Bananas on the Blockchain?" - https://youtu.be/H_kyYrbBY1I PREVIOUS EPISODES: "Introduction to Bitcoin" - https://aantonop.com/introduction-to-bitcoin/ "The Stories We Tell About Money" - https://aantonop.com/the-stories-we-tell-about-money/ "Forkology: A Study of Forks for Newbies" - https://aantonop.com/forkology/ "Streaming Money" - https://aantonop.com/streaming-money/ "The Currency Wars" - https://aantonop.com/the-currency-wars/ "Escaping the Global Banking Cartel" - https://aantonop.com/escaping-the-global-banking-cartel/ "Money as a System of Control" - https://aantonop.com/money-as-a-system-of-control/ "Worse than Useless: Financial Surveillance" - https://aantonop.com/worse-than-useless/ "Picking the Right Blockchain for the Job" - https://aantonop.com/picking-the-right-blockchain-for-the-job/ "Another Brick in the Firewall" - https://aantonop.com/another-brick-in-the-firewall/ "Universal Access to Basic Finance" - https://aantonop.com/universal-access-to-basic-finance/ NEXT EPISODE: "Libre Not Libra: Facebook's Blockchain Project" - https://aantonop.com/libre-not-libra-facebooks-blockchain-project/ SUPPORT: If you want early-access to talks and a chance to participate in the monthly live Q&As with Andreas, become a patron: https://www.patreon.com/aantonop BOOKS: MASTERING BITCOIN, 2nd Edition: https://amzn.to/2xcdsY9 THE INTERNET OF MONEY, v1: https://amzn.to/2ykmXFs Audiobook: https://www.audible.com/pd/The-Internet-of-Money-Audiobook/B071KXKQD7 THE INTERNET OF MONEY, v2: https://amzn.to/2IIG5BJ Audiobook: https://www.audible.com/pd/The-Internet-of-Money-Audiobook/B077Z8VWKM Spanish, 'Internet del Dinero' (v1) - https://amzn.to/2yoaTTq German, 'Das Internet des Geldes' (v1) - https://amzn.to/2LEiyqO German, 'Das Internet des Geldes' (v2) - https://amzn.to/2VCzse5 French, 'L'internet de l'argent' (v1) - https://www.amazon.fr/Linternet-largent-Andreas-M-Antonopoulos/dp/2856083390 Russian, 'Интернет денег' (v1) - https://www.olbuss.ru/catalog/ekonomika-i-biznes/korporativnye-finansy-bankovskoe-delo/internet-deneg Vietnamese, 'Internet Của Tiền Tệ' (v1) - https://alphabooks.vn/khi-tien-len-mang MASTERING ETHEREUM: https://amzn.to/2xdxmlK

16 episodes