Dr. Jeffrey B. Perry, Bio of “Hubert Harrison: Voice of Harlem Radicalism . . .

1:00:00
 
Share
 

Manage episode 283861549 series 1149349
By In the Authors Corner with Etienne. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.
Born to a Barbadian mother & Crucian father in St. Croix, Harlem-based Hubert Harrison (1883-1927) was a brilliant writer, orator, editor, educator, critic, & activist. He combined class consciousness & anti-white-supremacist race consciousness, internationalism, & struggle for equality into a potent political radicalism. Harrison's ideas profoundly influenced "New Negro" militants, including A. Philip Randolph & Marcus Garvey, & his work is a key link in the 2 great strands of the Civil Rights/Black Liberation struggle: the labor-&-civil-rights movement associated with Randolph & Martin Luther King Jr. & the race and nationalist movement associated with Garvey & Malcolm X. "Hubert Harrison: The Struggle for Equality, 1918-1927" (Columbia University Press) follows "Hubert Harrison: The Voice of HarlemRadicalism, 1883-1918". This 2-volume biography by Dr. Jeffrey B. Perry is based on extensive use of the Hubert H. Harrison Papers & Diary at Columbia's Rare Book & Manuscript Library. Visit Dr. Perry on Facebook. Also this CUP20 coupon gets you 20% off. Airing Times in the USA: 8:00 pm AST, 7:00 pm EST, 6:00 pm CST, 5:00 pm MST, 4:00 pm PST. Click here for your International Time Zone.

358 episodes